25 Things You May Not Know About Me

25 Things

25 Things You May Not Know About Me

My friends Heather Strout and Derek Showerman recently wrote blog posts on the “25 Things You May Not Know About Me” – and Heather ‘tagged’ me on her blog to add my own 25 things.

Actually, this turned out to be a fun exercise as I thought about the bits of my life that people probably don’t know about me:

  1. I met my wife Nancy on a blind date and she is the best thing that has happened to me (and I don’t tell her enough how important she is to me).  We’ll be married 10 years in June and we share our anniversary with my parents.
  2. I have 4 great children – Scott-18, Brian-16, Henry-8 and Kit-2, and I can discuss anything from college admissions and AP classes to Sponge Bob and diapers.
  3. I was born in Toledo, Ohio (the Glass Capital of the World and home to the Toledo Mud Hens) and grew up in Oregon, Ohio (a suburb directly to the east of Toledo and not to be confused with the state of Oregon which is actually pronounced differently).  There was a Humbarger listed in a Revolutionary
    Toledo Mud Hens

    Toledo Mud Hens

    Regiment from Pennsylvania, but I haven’t figured out if I’m related yet.  My parents are still in great health, and my older sister Linda lives in Shaker Heights, Ohio and my younger brother Gary who lives in San Francisco.  As John Denver noted in his famous and hilarious song about Toledo, “Saturday Night in Toledo Ohio is like being nowhere at all” which pretty much sums up why I moved to Minneapolis after college.

  4. My first job was as a paperboy delivering The Toledo Morning Times, and I also shelved books in the public library during high school.
  5. I’m an Eagle Scout – and the highlights of my scouting career were the two high adventure trips I took (hiking at Philmont Ranch in New Mexico and canoeing in the Boundary Waters of Northern Minnesota and Canada).
  6. I’m the Cub Scout Leader for my youngest son’s Cub Den – and I look great in my uniform.
  7. I played ice hockey during the 6 years I lived in Minneapolis, and I’ve been living in California (either Hermosa Beach or Manhattan Beach) for the last 21 years where I dumped hockey for beach volleyball.

    Sunset at Manhattan Beach

    Sunset at Manhattan Beach

  8. I have visited all 50 of the United States – including those hard-to-believe-anyone-would-visit states like North and South Dakota.  I’ve also visited Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Hong Kong, Switzerland, England, Finland, Sweden, Norway, France, Germany, Mexico and Brazil.
  9. I am a huge fan of Natalie Merchant (with or without the other 9,999 Maniacs) and Nanci Griffith.
  10. I also love marching band music because I played cornet in Bowling Green‘s marching band for 4 years during college (Go Falcons – Ay Ziggy!).  I am not musically gifted and constantly pissed off the music majors because I never knew if I was in tune or not – but I could play very loud.

    Bowling Green

    Bowling Green

  11. My favorite all-time baseball team is the 1968 Detroit Tigers and I can still name the starting lineup.  The Tigers and Mickey Lolich won the World Series over the Cardinals and Bob Gibson in 7 games that year, but now I’m mostly an Angels fan.
  12. I prefer a well-crafted micro-brew over any other adult beverage.
  13. I’ve been a runner for 33 years – and have a best times of 4:41 in the mile and 2:04 in the 1/2 mile (but not since high school).  I also ran the Cleveland and Twin Cities Marathons, but I’ve retired from that distance too.  Scott, my oldest son, seems to have caught my running gene too.
  14. My greatest athletic feat is swimming the 2-mile Pier-to-Pier swim from Hermosa Beach to Manhattan Beach (twice) because I had to overcome my Midwestern fear of unseen creatures and not being able to touch bottom.
  15. I have never smoked pot – which probably disqualifies me from ever being President of the United States (until I decide to light one up).
  16. I could watch M*A*S*H re-runs any time of the day and now that West Wing is in re-runs, the only must-see TV for me currently is This Old House and Top Chef.
  17. My favorite movies are Bull Durham, Mystery Alaska and The Sound of Music – and I could watch them anytime too.
  18. I was the drum major for my high school marching band and had to learn how to twirl a baton.
  19. My family used to vacation for same 2 weeks every summer in the same cabin on the same lake (Big Manistique) in the UP (Upper Peninsula of Michigan).
  20. I’m a CPA and still hold non-practicing licenses in Ohio and Minnesota.
  21. Tony Packo’s Hungarian Hot Dog restaurant in Toledo is my favorite restaurant, but I only eat there when I visit my parents.  Tony Packo’s is in the same neighborhood that my mom and grandparents grew up in East Toledo, and Jamie Farr memorialized the restaurant in several episodes of M*A*S*H.  Whenever celebrities come to Toledo, they always swing by Packos to sign a hot dog bun and the walls of the restaurant are covered with signed hot dog buns.

    tonypackos1

    Tony Packo's in Toledo

  22. I cut my own hair and haven’t visited a barber in 12 years.
  23. I wear boxers.
  24. My high school computer class used a teletype terminal and we stored our programs on paper ticker tape.  My first college computer class used IBM punch cards – and I got to use one of the first Macintoshes when they came out in 1984.
  25. I’m turning 50 this year and my first memories are of the activities around President Kennedy’s assasination and funeral.  I remember being royally pissed off that my cartoons were pre-empted for round-the-clock TV coverage.

So, who else wants to share?

3 thoughts on “25 Things You May Not Know About Me

  1. Tom, thanks for playing along. #23 TMI. #24 That’s awesome. We had the first computer on the block and used to write programs to make the stick rotate across the screen but paper ticker tape definitely trumps that. #16 Love Top Chef. It’s one of the only shows my husband and I watch together. (That and 30 Rock).

  2. Hi, Tom. We’re friends on FB. Neglected to comment there when you posted these. I’d love to know what micro-brews you drink (ideally the non-local ones, since I don’t get up to Ohio that often).

    Also, I once walked into a record store and asked for the latest 1,000 Maniacs — only to have the clerk tell me, “Ma’am I’m sorry, but you’re about 9,000 maniacs short.”

    Loved Bull Durham, love baseball. LOVE band music, especially @ football games, and any occasion for a parade.

    Best wishes to you — I’m off to bed now with the latest print version of FastCompany.

Leave a Reply

