Am I An Average Blogger?

Technorati released their 2008 State of the Blogosphere recently and it got me to thinking about blogging, especially why I blog?

According to the Technorati study, blogs are “pervasive and part of our daily lives.”  By any measure, there are lots of people writing and reading blogs.  Various studies were referenced that placed the blog readership in the 60 to 90 million range, and blog authors in the 22 to 26 million range.

Marketing guru and blogger Seth Godin had this to say on blogging in the study:

“The word blog is irrelevant, what’s important is that it is now common, and will soon be expected, that every intelligent person (and quite a few unintelligent ones) will have a media platform where they share what they care about with the world.”

It turns out that I am a fairly average blogger.  Males are more likely to blog (57%), especially in the 35+ age category (58%), the the majority are college graduates (75%) and participate in 5 social media activities.

Technorati is currently tracking over 5 million blogs and 45% have a Technorati authority ranking of 1 or greater.  By comparison, my blog currently has an authority ranking of 7 which means I am very close breaking into the ranks of the ‘almost’ elite blogs.

Blogs with Posts in June, 2008, by Technorati Authority

Blogs with Posts in June, 2008, by Technorati Authority (from Technorati)

I originally started blogging for the Catalyze community I was managing so I could contribute content and earn some ‘cred’ with my memberbase.  Then my company launched a social media initiative and blog, and I soon became their most prolific blogger too as I was usually able to cross-post my entries.  Over the last 18 months, I have probably written more than 150 blog posts.  When I was laid off during this recent economic downturn, I actually started blogging more – averaging 3 to 4 posts per week, up from 1 to 2 posts per week previously.  I have found that blogging is a great way to keep my writing skills sharp, to learn about new things, to keep busy and to continue to keep my name in front of prospective employers.

Blogging brings me joy and satisfaction.  Sometimes I even blog about interesting informational nugget or tidbet so I know that I will be easily find it again by searching on my blog.

The Technorati report is definitely worth reading if you are currently blogging or thinking of starting to blog.  There is a lot to read and the report is organized as follows:

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Am I An Average Blogger?

  1. Jason – I think it’s more important that you have a blog than how it looks but I’ve always been a substance over form guy – and that you link between the parent site and blog.

    Ideally, the look and feel should be the same, but many companies do not have the bandwidth, time or expertise to modify WordPress or other blogging software to match their site navigation and design.

    Tom

Leave a Reply

