The Red Sox Nation and Web 2.0

From XM Baseball

What is it with Red Sox fans and Web 2.0?

Even though I am a Los Angeles Fan (primarily the Angels and secondarily the Dodgers), I am intrigued by the passion of Boston Red Sox fans.  It also seems like Red Sox have done the best job in Major League Baseball of co-opting Web 2.0 for their nearly exclusive use.

On Twitter, there are countless Red Sox fans including some people I follow like @astrout, @jstorerj, @naomimarr, @adamcohen and @blg.  I have only been able to find a handful of Angel fans (@geekgiant and @angelstalk) and they do not come close to displaying the fervor or producing the same Twitter volume as Red Sox.  In fact, it’s quite fun even for a non-Boston fan to follow #redsox on Twitter Search especially during games as the Twitter traffic is usually pretty stimulating.

I also participated in a friendly Web 2.0 wager with some Red Sox fans via Twitter (mostly Mzinga friends and family) over the recently completed Red Sox vs. Angels American League Division Championship Series.  The bet was that the fans of the losing team need to display their fealty to the winning team by changing their social media profile pictures and making one positive Tweet about the winning team per day until the end of the baseball season.  Which is why I am now on a Red Sox bobble head and why my profile pictures on Twitter and Facebook display a Red Sox cap.

When you look on Facebook, there are a dozen or more Red Sox and Red Sox nation fan pages and groups with thousands and thousands of members.  By comparison, there are just a couple of Angels pages and groups with a total combined membership of about 10,000.

And then there is the blog traffic.  During a quick scan of Technorati, I saw that there are 366 blogs about the Boston Red Sox.  Meanwhile, there are only 75 blogs about Los Angeles Angels.  It also looks like the blog post traffic for the Red Sox is running about 5x the posts for the Angels.

And these Web 2.0 stats just represent the computer-literate Red Sox fans and don’t include the countless Red Sox fans whose lips move when they’re reading or who don’t own computers.

My last hope in 2008 is for the Dodgers (including Manny and my neighbor Nomar who lives down the street) to meet up with the Red Sox in the World Series in 2 weeks and redeem LA’s honor on the field.  But I don’t think we’ll ever catch up with the Red Sox in the Web 2.0 world.

Otherwise I may have to change team and Web 2.0 loyalties if the Red Sox dominance over Los Angeles continues.

8 thoughts on “The Red Sox Nation and Web 2.0

  1. A Red Sox Fans Perspective.

    So Bring on the Rays.

    You know I always knew we would win it – last night.

    Even when Franconia Took out Lester who was Cruising along – in favor of Sashimi No 2 Because – hey, why would we want to just get the last 6 outs and go home the easy way?
    Obviously he must have had subscribed to the Ned Yost – Magic 8 Ball of Pitcher Selection. I mean tell me you didn’t see him with that 8 Ball in the corner of the Dugout – Asking it – “Should I pull the guy who is Cruising Along, in Favor of the Sushi?”, apparently the 8 Ball came back with “Most Definitely “

    Even when Franconia then took out Sashimi No 2 to put in Rookie No 1,
    Even when Rookie No 1. Walked the First Guy he faced, and Francona stayed with him.
    Although he had Ace Delcarmin Available. (Who – by the fucking way – not weigh – is whomst he should have gone to in the first place if he was gong to pull Lesterffic, guess the 8 Ball Said – “Most Definitely NO!” a

    Even when Franconia left Rookie No 1. In the game to Face Vladimir (we don’t need no stinking batting gloves) GreeeeaaatO – who previously was 5 of 7 off of Rookie No 1.

    Even When Rookie No 1 fucked up the pitch which allowed 2 guys to get into scoring position – Even then I still believed – believed we needed to shoot the Manager.
    (Calling Grady Little – Calling Grady Little – Clean Up on Mound No 1?) HELLO MC FLY???? ANY ONE HOME?????

    Even when Franconia Left Rookie No 1 in to give up a Double to start the Ninth inning- come on? Are you shitting me?

    So what happens- we get out of it due to a botched Suicide Squeeze and some good play and a little luck in the bottom of the Ninth. I will take is – You will take it, but it shouldn’t have ever got there.

    I am as loyal a fan as they come, and I jumped for Joy – but between the 7th Inning and The Joy ……………….

    There was the Magic 8 Ball that is Terry Francona

  2. I am an avid Red Sox fan born and bred in Boston growing up at Fenway basically. I also lived 14 years in Orange County and became an Angels fan. My allegiance to is the Red Sox, but must say the Angels are a solid classy outfit. They just need to take LA out of their name. Tom, I can see why you are excited about the Dodgers this year. I think they can beat the Phillies and fully expect to see BOS-LA series. Although the Rays remind me of the 2002 Angels…they do not know any better about the fact that BOS is America’s new October team. BTW, I have one of those Red Sox Bobbleheads on my FB account too! Funny! Watching Manny vs Bay might be fun! Anyway, thanks for the recognition of the Red Sox Nation. It is quite a group of passionate fans!

  3. Love it Tom! I follow your tweets via the Facebook feed, and I’m starting to think there’s a little part of you that might actually *be* a Red Sox fan😉

  4. Tom, nothing gives me greater joy than seeing you in Red Sox red, white and blue! You’re a good sport though and we appreciate that. Thanks for the love!

    Best,
    Aaron | @astrout

  5. Hey Tom,
    Don’t sell yourself short, you represent Angels fans well – not only in honoring the bet but in keeping up with the banter. It’s passionate folks like yourself that keep this “web 2.0 stuff” fun. Great way to meet you and I do honestly hope for a LA-BOS matchup in the World Series. We’ve got a tough road through the Rays first. Thanks again and I look forward to more trash talking…
    Best,
    Adam

Leave a Reply

