I Have a Social Media Dream

It would be fatal for the nation to overlook the urgency of the moment.

Martin Luther King, Jr. would have turned 80 today.  While we won’t officially celebrate his birthday until Monday, I want to pay my respects to this great man by borrowing from his famous “I Have A Dream” speech.  If you have not read, watched or listened to his famous speech recently, it is definitely worth it to take a few moments to remember MLK’s message.

In the same vein, I have some dreams about social media and community.

I have a dream that companies everywhere will embrace social media and start doing a better job of listening and collaborating with their customers, employees and partners.

I have a dream that community managers across the globe will be recognized for the multitude of talents and skills it takes to run a quality commmunity.

I have a dream that the companies who deliver social media-related products continue to innovate and bring great software and services to market. 

I have a dream that community platform vendors  will deliver the social media analytics that I want.

I have a dream that my social networking personas and profiles will be interchangeable and shareable no matter where I am.

I have a dream that social networking will become ubiquitious and as commonplace as the telephone.

I have a dream that individuals everywhere will use social networking technology to help others by sharing knowledge and to deepen their relationships with others.

Let social media “ring from every hilltop and mountaintop”.  And thank you Dr. King for all you did for the civil rights movement…

2 thoughts on “I Have a Social Media Dream

  1. I love this message, Tom.

    Thanks for writing and sharing. Also, thanks for being such a vocal community advocate. It’s because of individuals like you who are willing to push for the adoptions of these messages that make a difference.

  2. Very nice, Tom. I completely agree with you. I too love social media and am very grateful about the many ways it unites people – and also how much more accountable it is making companies.

Leave a Reply

