Wheaties – Still the Breakfast of Champions

Wheaties Boxes at Minuteman Parking Offices

Wheaties Boxes at Minuteman Parking Offices

I ate a lot of Wheaties when I was growing up, but I haven’t had any in quite awhile.  However, I was reminded of my Wheaties love when I was visiting the offices of Minuteman Parking (one of my clients) this week.  Chris Fox, the president and ower, has been collecting Wheaties boxes for more than 20 years.  And he has more than 300 boxes of Wheaties lining the walls of his office.

I knew that there had to be a reason why Chris was so passionate about his Wheaties box collection, so I asked him.  Here is what he had to say:

Wheaties is one of those old American brands that are synonymous with success.  The only people or teams that they put on the box are Champions (they also usually only sell them in the geographical area of the winner on the box).  You don’t get on a Wheaties box if you come in second place.  Here at Minuteman Parking we know that there is no room for second place.  The guy who comes in second does not get the contract or keep the customer.

I ask you, how do you get to be a champion?  My answer would be through commitments; commitments to excellence, to others, to self and to your own integrity.  To have a successful career or relationship, one must make and keep commitments.

Would how you live your life qualify you for a Wheaties Box?  If not, now is the time to change.

I think Chris hit it squarely out of the park with that answer.

BTW, while researching Wheaties, I also uncovered this related links:

One thought on “Wheaties – Still the Breakfast of Champions

Leave a Reply

