Using Quantcast To Measure Your Website’s Audience

Are you interested in measuring metrics for your website?  Are you already using Google Analytics or some other service?  In any case, you should definitely check out the free service from Quantcast.  Quantcast will not necessarily replace your current analytical solution, but it is a good complementary solution to track your website traffic because of the demographic, frequency and lifestyle stats and way they track your data.  And since it’s free, there is no reason not to try it.

I was reminded of Quantcast last week as I’ll be using it for one of my upcoming clients and I am amazed at the types of and formats of reports I was able to get from their free service.  For example, some of the more interesting stats provided by Quantcast include:

  • Traffic – stats like people, visits, pageviews, pageviews per person and visits per person.  This information can be viewed by day, week or month over a range of 1 week, 1 month, 3 months, 6 months, 1 year or all.  This is very similar to what you are used to seeing in Google Analytics.
  • Geographic – a breakdown by country, state, DMA and city.  For some reason, my blog is big in the New York DMA and the city of London even though I am based in Los Angeles.
  • US Demographics – since Quantcast uses cookies, they can infer gender, age ranges, ethnicity, income and education.  My blog seems to be most popular among the 35 to 49 crowd
  • Traffic frequency – which identifies whether people are addicts, regulars or passers-by.  For my blog, 17% of the visitors are regulars and they account for 39% of the visits and 83% are passers-by accounting for 59% of the visits.
  • Lifestyle or Audience Also Likes – this section identifies other types of websites that visitors frequent which can identify brand preference and life style traits.  My highest affinity is science/nature at 2.1x which means that my visitors are 2.1 times more likely to visit science and nature sites than the typical internet visitor.

For a more detailed view, here is a screen shot of my blog’s Quantcast page:

Tom Humbarger's Blog on Quantcast - click on image to see in full screen

If you have a hosted WordPress.com blog (like mine), Quantcast is already gathering statistics on your site.  Otherwise, you need to set up an account and add your website so Quantcast can start tracking metrics.  Here is an article that describes the steps to set up Quantcast.

The other neat thing about Quantcast is that you can also use the service to review the statistics on other websites, such as your competition.

One thought on “Using Quantcast To Measure Your Website’s Audience

  1. Nice article, I did not knew that wordpress.com is already using quantcast to gather stats. I have mapped a my domain using wordpress.com domain upgrade but My blog does not appear on quantcast. I guess Quatcast does not work for people with domain upgrade feature.

Leave a Reply

