Do You Want A Top 10 LinkedIn Company Page?

If this is not one of your organization’s social media goals, it should be. Here are my two steps to propel your company into the stratosphere of a Top 10 LinkedIn Company Page.

Step 1 – Hire me

Due to inexplicable circumstances beyond my control, I recently became a “free agent” just 6 months after the LinkedIn Company Page I managed was selected as a Top 10 Company Page for 2013. It is a little like Los Angeles Dodger pitcher Clayton Kershaw getting his contract release after earning a couple of Cy Young awards and chucking a no hitter. Well, it’s almost like that from a social media perspective.

Just think, there are only ten social media strategists who can boast the claim to managing a Top 10 LinkedIn Company Page in 2013, and one of them is currently available to help your company achieve this lofty, yet worthwhile goal!

What do I know about Company Pages? Over the last 2 1/2 years, I have learned a lot about LinkedIn Company Pages and have definitely earned my cred. I grew the followers for the AppleOne Company Page from just under 4,000 followers to over 28,000 – a 7x increase during the period. In addition, I have been posting daily status updates for nearly 2 years (which works out to way more than 500 posts in total) and the Company Page is regularly receiving over 100,000 impressions per week which means the Page is on track to record over 5 million impressions for the year.

Why is a LinkedIn Company Page so important? LinkedIn is the last professional social media property where brands can still generate strong organic traffic and visibility for free. I have also been managing a Facebook Company Page and have watched as organic traffic on that site has fall to almost nothing. On the other hand, LinkedIn is a captive audience for professionals and most companies have not taken full advantage of the Company Page capabilities. “Smart’ companies are starting to realize that content really is king and that regularly providing their followers with fresh and interesting content builds strong brand awareness while providing a valuable service.

Step 2 – Or Follow My 6 LinkedIn Company Page Tips

Here are my 6 tips for pushing your LinkedIn Company Page into the realm of a Top 10 property:

  1. Post regular status updates – the more content you post on your Company Page, the more you will keep your company’s name in front of your followers and in the LinkedIn Newsfeed. My best practice suggestion is to post at least daily which means you will need five great posts each week to drive traffic.
  2. Post interesting content – you do not want every message on your Company Page to advertise your products or services because that would only serve to annoy or turn off your followers. Instead, it is important to post interesting content that followers will find useful for their every day job or career, or that educates or entertains them in some way. For instance, out of five weekly Company Page posts, only two of the posts would be a link back to the company blog. For the rest of the Company Page content, I use Feedly’s RSS feeder to keep track of more than 75 different blog and news feeds. I scan the headlines on a daily basis, and select the top 12 articles to post on two different Twitter accounts. From this subset, I select the best articles to share on the LinkedIn Company Page.
  3. Write a catchy headline or intro – readers are bombarded by countless messages every day so your posts need to quickly grab the reader’s attention from among all of the content they are seeing on all of their social networks or information sources. Ask a thought-provoking question, tease the readers with a snappy tidbit or give them some reason to want to read the post. Don’t forget to include a shortened URL at the end of your headline to link to your content (my favorite is Hootsuite’s ow.ly URL shortener, and there are several other options to chose from as well).
  4. Upload your own image – this is one of the most important tips to really power your engagement. By default, if you paste a URL into a status update, LinkedIn will suggest a clickable postage stamp-sized photo from an image at that page. Alternatively, I have found that it is far better to upload my own image which usually with the content’s title superimposed over the picture. Sometimes I use an image from the actual article or other times, I create my own using Canva (my new favorite personal design tool). An uploaded image will be about 350×210 pixels compared to the standard 180×110 postage stamp picture which is a difference of nearly 4x. In an experiment I conducted recently, we were able to gain 87% more Impressions, 132% more Clicks and 39% more Interactions on identical posts. I will publish a follow-up LinkedIn post with more details on this tip.
  5. Empower your employees – most companies are still struggling with empowering their employees to engage regularly with their LinkedIn company page. At my former company, we had over 1,500 employees on LinkedIn, but only a small percentage were engaging with our content. We averaged only 41 interactions on our status updates over the last 6 months which would be less than 3% engagement per post assuming all of the interactions are from employees (which probably skews this quick statistic on the high side). When a company can get their employees to recognize that they are essential part of the marketing team and that it is critical to the company’s success for everyone to regularly participate in doing their share to share and promote the posts, I could easily see this ratio pushed into the 10 to 20% range which could easily double or triple the reach of the Company Page.
  6. Monitor your statistics – it is also important to monitor the Company Page analytics to see what’s working and what is not working, and then adjust accordingly. I would check the Analytics several times per day and I also kept very detailed weekly records. Over the last six months, I know that our posts averaged more than 19,000 Impressions, 192 Clicks and 41 Interactions. I also determined that my best engagement occurred from Tuesday to Thursday, so I always saved my best content for those days.

I trust that you will be able to use these tips to propel your Company Page to the next level – or you could just hire me and we can enjoy the journey together!

________________________

I am Social Media and Digital Marketing Strategist experienced in both B2B and B2C arenas, and have proven expertise in multiple industries. My many achievements include: creating social media and digital marketing strategies, managing social media properties on a daily basis, curating content and writing blog posts, developing training materials and instructing associates on best practices, engaging with customers and prospects, and evangelizing stakeholders. I was fortunate enough to be involved in Social Media since the early days and I was the 82,754th person to join LinkedIn in December 2003.

Contact me by email via thumbarger @ yahoo.com or check out my blog or LinkedIn Profile for more information on how I can help your company achieve your social media goals and objectives.

One thought on “Do You Want A Top 10 LinkedIn Company Page?

  1. Pingback: Share The 2014 One Million Woman Link Up Announcement | WomenPartner.org

Leave a Reply

