Hug Your Accountant Today

Today, November 10th, is International Accounting Day.  Since I started out my career as a Certified Public Accountant (or CPA) with KPMG, I have a fondness for the accounting profession and accountants in general.  Starting out in the accounting profession is a great way to begin any career and I continue to carry the lessons learned from those five years as a CPA to my current endeavors.  And my wife is still impressed every time I use the 10-key skills I learned when I am adding numbers into a spreadsheet.

According to the International Accounting Day website (yes, there really is one), this day in history goes back to the year 1494, when book titled Summa de Arithmetica, Geometria, Proportioni et Proportionalita (Everything About Arithmetic, Geometry and Proportion) by Luca Paciolli was published in Venice. This was the first book that contained an essay on double-entry bookkeeping and provided a base for other works on mercantile accounting. Without Luca Paciolli, accountants wouldn’t know that debits (assets) are on the left and credits (liabilities) are on the right.

The infographic below was compiled by Accountemps, a Robert Half subsidiary, and provides five surprising facts about the Accounting Profession.

Surprising Facts about the Accounting Profession

Leave a Reply

